4601 E. Douglas Suite 150, Wichita, KS 67218 | (316) 347-7959
Kansas Registered Agent LLC
by Kansas Registered Agent LLC

Kansas LLC

A Kansas LLC is a business entity that offers limited liability protection and a flexible management structure. While LLCs are popular entity types, figuring out how to start a Kansas LLC can be a real grind. That’s where our rapid LLC formation services can help save you time and stress. We’ll do everything right the first time and get your Kansas LLC formed faster than anyone else.

How Our Kansas LLC Service Works

When you order our Kansas LLC formation package, our local agents prepare and file your Articles of Organization in a single business day. Here’s what the process looks like after that.

  • The state will confirm that your Kansas LLC is authorized.
  • We’ll quickly deliver your LLC documents by uploading them to your online account.
  • After that, we’ll provide Kansas registered agent service for a year.
  • Once the year is up, we’ll send you a renewal notice for your registered agent service.

We take pride in our efficient Kansas LLC service. But we know some business owners prefer the DIY approach. Keep reading to learn how to form a Kansas LLC.

How to Form a Kansas LLC

If you decide to form a Kansas LLC on your own, there are a few steps you’ll need to take.

Name Your Kansas LLC

Deciding on a name for your Kansas LLC is a pivotal decision. You can’t go any further in the process until you’ve got a business name, and you’ll be expected to follow certain state rules and regulations.

  • The name of your LLC must be “distinguishable” from other business names. That means the name of your Kansas LLC can’t be too similar to a business that already exists, and it definitely can’t be identical.
  • The name of your LLC must include a business identifier such as “limited liability company” or “limited company.” You can also use an abbreviation like “LLC” or LC.”

If you already have a business name in mind, you’ll want to make sure the name you want for your Kansas LLC is available. You can check by searching the Kansas Secretary of State Business Database.

Appoint a Registered Agent for Your Kansas LLC

A registered agent is someone who receives legal mail on behalf of your Kansas LLC. Your Kansas registered agent must be 18 years or older and have a physical address in Kansas. You can act as your own registered agent if you wish, but keep in mind that state law requires you to be available during regular business hours. If running your LLC requires you to be out and about most of the day, it’s best to hire an outside registered agent. You can hire us as your Kansas registered agent even if you’ve decided to form your LLC on your own.

File Kansas LLC Articles of Organization

To file Articles of Organization in Kansas, you must provide the following information:

  • Company name – must include an identifier such as “LLC.”
  • Registered agent name – the person or company that will accept legal mail on behalf of your Kansas LLC.
  • Registered agent office address – must be a physical Kansas address.
  • Company mailing address – this is where you’d like official state mail to be delivered, not including legal documents.
  • Tax closing month – for most businesses, this is December.
  • Signature – The person filing your Articles of Organization must sign the document.
  • Effective date – If you’d like to delay the start of your Kansas LLC, you may list a future date (up to 90 days) below the signature block.

The filing fee is $160 (plus a $6 processing fee) for online submissions and $165 for mail filings. You may also file by fax, however, you’ll need to pay an additional $20.

Let Us Help You Form Your Kansas LLC

Forming an LLC can be a hassle for business owners. Here are some ways our Kansas LLC formation service lightens the load:

  • Swift filing: We prepare and file your Articles of Organization in a single business day because we don’t like unnecessary wait times any more than you do.
  • Consistent pricing: The rate you pay today is the rate you’ll pay next year and the year after that. We don’t believe in luring you in with a low price, then doubling that price in a year or two.
  • Privacy protection: We put our Kansas business address on your Kansas LLC forms. That keeps you from having to list your private address on the Articles of Organization.
  • Knowledgeable customer service experts: Our experts work out of our office in Wichita. They’ve been around long enough to know all the ins and outs of forming a Kansas LLC, and they’ll be happy to assist you when you have questions.

FAQs About Forming A Kansas LLC

Can I reserve a name for my Kansas LLC?

Yes. You’ll want to submit the Temporary Reservation of Business Entity Name form to the Kansas Secretary of State. The cost is $30 to reserve a name if you file online or $35 if you file by mail. If you submit a paper form via fax, there’s an additional $20 processing fee, bringing the total to $55. Once you’ve filed, the Secretary of State will reserve your name for 120 days.

Do I need a Kansas business license?

Your Kansas LLC will need some tax-related certificates, so make sure to submit a Kansas Business Tax Application three to four weeks before you open your business. There is no filing fee. If you run a professional business that requires specialized training or education to perform, you may also need a Professional Business License. Finally, check with your city or county to see if local business licenses are necessary.

Do I need to file a Kansas Annual Report?

Yes, all Kansas LLCs must file a Kansas Annual Report. Your report will be due on the 15th day of the 4th month following the end of your tax year. For most businesses, this will be April 15th. The filing fee is $55 (mail) or $50 (online).

How are Kansas LLCs taxed?

LLCs are automatically taxed as pass-through entities, which means you report your share of the business’s profits on your personal taxes. You can also elect to file as either an S-corp or C-corp by submitting paperwork to the IRS. You’ll also need to pay federal employment taxes (15.3%) as well as any applicable state taxes. For example, Kansas assesses a personal income tax (between 3.1% and 5.7%) based on how much you earn.


MENU